AmCham Taipei 2017 Annual General Meeting

More than 160 AmCham Taipei members and guests attended the 2017 Annual General Meeting, November 21 at Shangri-La’s Far Eastern Plaza Hotel. Opening the session, Chamber Chairman Albert Chang thanked the Chamber’s current Board for their service and outlined the organization’s achievements over the past year. He also paid tribute to President Andrea Wu, who is stepping down as of December 31, for her outstanding performance and dedication over her more than nine years in the position.

Director Kin W. Moy of the American Institute in Taiwan (AIT) also spoke, expressing his appreciation for AIT’s partnership with AmCham on policy issues, regulatory matters, and programs that enhance bilateral economic relations between Taiwan and the United States. He also introduced the extension of the United States’ Global Entry program to residents of Taiwan.

This year AmCham Taipei was honored to have Dr. Chen Chien-Jen, Vice President of the Republic of China, as a special guest at the Annual General Meeting. In brief remarks, the Vice President thanked the Chamber for its efforts to strengthen business ties between Taiwan and the United States. He said that the “Chamber’s annual Doorknock trip to Washington is an invaluable communication channel between Taiwan and the U.S.”

Chen stressed the administration’s desire to bolster Taiwan’s integration into the global economy and highlighted government policies that could benefit both Taiwan and the U.S. He particularly cited the 5+2 Innovative Industries program and New Southbound Policy, and stressed the government’s support for a Taiwan-U.S. bilateral trade agreement.

At the meeting, six Governors were elected to two-year terms and three Supervisors to one-year terms. The newly elected Governors are Anita Chen of Google, Chyi-Woei Chin of Micron, Edward Shober of Versum Materials, Joanne Tsai of FOX Networks, Daniel Tseng of Corning Display Technologies, and Fupei Wang of Ogilvy Public Relations. Elected as Supervisor were Petra Jumpers of Eli Lilly, Joyce Lee of Bristol-Myers Squibb, and Timothy J. Shield of Cigna Taiwan.

The new Governors join the following incumbents with another year to serve on the Board: Albert Chang of McKinsey & Co., William Farrell of Boyden executive search, Revital Golan of Anemone Ventures, Tim Ju of the Ford Lio Ho Motor Co., Seraphim Ma of Baker McKenzie, Vincent Shih of Microsoft, and Leo Seewald of BlackRock Investment Management (Taiwan) Ltd.