DPP’s Tsai Ing-wen Accepts 2016 Nomination

Saying she is determined to “turn tears to laughter” for her supporters after her failed 2012 bid, DPP chairperson Tsai Ing-wen on April 15 formally accepted her party’s nomination for the 2016 presidential elections.

Tsai Ing-wen announced her candidacy in February and ran for the party nomination unopposed. Although the KMT has not yet chosen a candidate, she currently is leading in polls against expected challengers. KMT Chairman Eric Chu, who is also mayor of New Taipei City, has repeatedly confirmed that he will not be contesting the presidential election. The KMT has no clear frontrunner, but deputy legislative speaker Hung Hsiu-chu threw her hat into the ring, seeking the party’s nod in primary elections. Legislative speaker Wang Jin-pyng is being urged by many to enter the race, but so far has demurred. Other candidates are expected to announce soon for the primary, which will take place May 17 and 18.